01209 615600
Healthier pupils; better learners.

31st October 2018


Locality 4 Mini Newsletter: October

Newquay, Wadebridge, Padstow and St Austell

Locality Worker: Rebecca White



What I have been up to:

  • Nanpean School invited me in to deliver a staff SUGAR SMART session. Thank you for having us and we hope you enjoyed it. I look forward to delivering more SUGAR SMART sessions to your pupils in November.
  • I had a meeting with the school council lead at Foxhole Academy. The schools is now engaged with the Healthy Schools School Council Award and have arranged for us to deliver a Learner Participation Assembly at the end of the month. I really look forward to working with you this year!
  • I presented Trenance Learning Academy with their Healthy School Award in their celebration assembly. Congratulations!
  • I also presented St Kew Primary School with their Healthy School Award in their celebration Assembly. Congratulations!
  • I delivered SUGAR SMART workshops to all of the KS2 classes in St Columb Major ACE Academy as part of their health week. I thoroughly enjoyed the week so thank you for inviting me in!
  • The Healthy Cornwall team and Healthy Schools team worked together to offer family health checks and healthy eating advice at St Columb Major ACE Academy during the schools open afternoon.
  • Par Running Track hosted the Go Run For Fun event which was open to all schools across the county. Well done to all schools who took part! It was great to see so many people enjoying the event!
  • I had a meeting at Doubletrees School and left being so impressed with all the hard work that goes in to the running of the school. I am really looking forward to working with the school more closely over the next academic year to support them in achieving their Healthy School Award.  

What I will be up to in November:

  • Attending the PE and Sport Conference at Callywith College
  • Delivering a Learner Participation Assembly at Bishop Bronsecombe School.
  • Delivering SUGAR SMART assembles at Nanpean Primary School.
  • Delivering a Staff Wellbeing Session at St Columb Minor ACE Academy.
  • Presenting Healthy School Award Case Studies to the panel!


Upcoming Community Health Events in Locality 4:



Healthy Cornwall will be starting a Healthy Families programme in January at St Columb Major ACE Academy. For more details please visit the healthy weight website or email Michael at Michael.taylor@cornwall.gov.uk



Locality 4 Schools:

Primary Schools:

Bishop Bronescombe CE Primary School

Bugle School

Carclaze Community Primary School

Charlestown Primary School

Cubert School

Foxhole Learning Academy

Goonhavern Primary School

Indian Queens Community Primary School

Luxulyan School

Mawgan-in-Pydar Community Primary School

Mevagissey Primary School

Mount Charles School

Nanpean Community Primary School

Newquay Junior Academy

Padstow School

Perranporth Community Primary School

Pondhu Primary School

Roche Community Primary School

Sandy Hill Academy

St Breock Academy

St Columb Major ACE Academy

St Columb Minor ACE Academy

St Dennis Academy

St Issey VA CE School

St Kew Community Primary School

St Mabyn CE School

St Merryn School

St Mewan Community Primary School

St Minver School

St Newlyn East Learning Academy

St Stephen Churchtown Academy

Summercourt Academy

The Bishops CE Primary School

Trenance Learning Academy

Treverbyn Academy

Trevisker Community Primary School

Wadebridge Primary School

Whitemoor Academy

Secondary Schools:

Brannel School

Newquay Tretherras

Penrice Academy

Poltair Community School and Sports College

Treviglas Community College

Wadebridge School

Special Schools:

Doubletrees School

Alternative Provision Academies:



Locality 4 Support Worker Details:

Name: Rebecca White

Email: Rebecca.white@cornwall.gov.uk

Phone: 07701296357